Tags

, , ,

As part of the technology generation (Internet Anno Domini), I am on some social networks here and there and like everyone else, I browse through people’s posts every now and then. Someone shared a video recently, titled something along the lines of dogs driving cars… Apart from the initial “what the f..k?” thought I had, I wanted to see what it was about. Watched it, hated the annoying voice of the trainer, and read a few comments there, felt sad that I am part of the race called homo sapiens…

Yes, I get the ad was promoting one of the dog rescue organizations and that dogs are good companions, etc etc blah blah; but one thing that really bothered me was that people titled it “dogs are so smart” amongst many other comments…

How f..ked up is that? Seriously, how stupid it really is to call all of this “smart”? The animal was “trained” to do it, even worse, do something it would never have any interest in or do on it’s own accord?!
Hell yeah, if the animal got into the car and drove off on it’s own? wow! I mean… WOW!!!

Not saying here that animals are stupid and that clever animals do not exist… Of course they do… I myself had a cat for example (no, I don’t hate dogs…), who figured out that there is running water in the tap, that can be drunk… Just need to catch someones attention by jumping up onto the kitchen top, sit by the sink for a moment, and someone will open the tap for sip, as if the running water tasted better than the same water put a few minutes ago into the bowl…

But making another creature do something by the a process of repetition, on command, is simply “training”, there is nothing “smart” about it…

