Tags

, , , , ,

I have just finished a 45+ working week (not my first, nor last), after finishing at around 9.15pm on Wednesday, then past 7pm the next 2 days… I was so tired on Thursday from the focus, that when I walked into my apartment and sat down for a moment, I literally saw lines of code anywhere my eyes stopped to look, no joke… I wanted to think I won’t do things like that (free overtime), and I am angry with myself that I did do it. On the other hand, I absolutely agreed to do so…

I hate staying after hours, probably even more so that my type of work could be as flexible as I wish, if I chose to decide to do contracting / freelance. I am not a surgeon who would be operating on a heart or something and walking out would mean killing the patient, not as if they could come back and finishing it all on Monday… but programming / development? it’s a different ball game.

… so why? why did I agree to do that, because of a deadline? why would anyone give more of their life they already sell under the contract of their employment?

Firstly, it doesn’t happen every day. Second, I do love what I do, so doing it for longer during the day is more fun (a little bit of sarcasm). Another factor is that I take pride in what I do and it is satisfying that I have build something and it’s done and working, and I really do not like incomplete in general…
Also, I feel personally responsible for the piece of work I do, kind of like old school hand build car signing by the engineer who built it, and if I don’t put in the extra work to finish it I won’t be that impressed with myself…
Even though I got more and more side work pushed into my schedule at the same time, so it felt like day’s work completed but still the same amount to do…

I am sure there are plenty of other reasons you can think of, but my main problem is, why we actually agree within ourselves to do all that? I hate the fact that I am selling my time, my life, for money, yes, I get it’s the way the world works. You can’t get anything without money in the “modern world” we live in, to get money, you need to work and all that shit… but why would you give more of your private precious seconds, minutes, hours of your private life… for money?

Why do we allow those situations to arise? aren’t we working enough in our lives?

My personal experience is that people who are relaxed, enjoy themselves more, pay more attention to what they are doing and how, and that naturally creates space for creativity, quality of work and speed. But that’s only my opinion…

So I hope no overtime for you…

