There are quite a few reasons why I sometimes hate the fact I belong to the “human” race. And it all comes down to my own understanding of my own, and the entire human population’s responsibility as the (apparently) most evolved animal (pun intended) on this planet. One of the main reasons is the amount of destruction, damage and havoc we cause around the world, in the domain of animals on the land, in the air and under the surface of the water.

I pride myself a little bit to be environmentally aware, all around. I try to eat a variety of foods (not stuffing my face with only meat all the time), I eat seasonal veg (in the hope that my lessened demand will cut the total destruction and cultivation of the last remaining untouched/unfarmed piece of land), I walk everywhere I can (I don’t actually currently own a car), I go to the supermarket and put all my shopping into my 65 liter backpack, so that I do not use any bags (that add to the pile of rubbish we all add to), I’d rather stay in a small place when I am holidaying in hope, the produce is going to be local, rather than a wholesale shipment of items from the other end of the planet, etc. You get the gist.

I have been to quite a few places in the world, one of the most amazing places due to it’s uniqueness was the Galapagos Islands and I can tell you that the difference in lack of rubbish on the inhabited islands versus amount of rubbish laying around in the towns on the inhabited islands I have visited, made me feel ashamed that I was one of the people who added to the tourist traffic. Yes, it’s an amazing place, but if we never stepped foot on it, there would be no rubbish there, end of.

I am 100% sure it’s not the lack of education, or whatever. It’s your own culture, your own hygiene and your own feeling of responsibility for your own fucking home called Earth.

So what’s all this about you ask?

Last night, I went out with my girlfriend to the local food court for dinner. We ordered our food and went into a local supermarket to pick up some small things. When we were done with the shop, we sat until our food arrived and watched people walk in and out of the supermarket.
Two girls (Asian, Japanese? Chinese? no idea), I’d say definitely in their mid teens, one wearing a backpack, the other carrying plastic bag with shopping stopped few chairs away from us and started re-packing.
While the two of us were busy talking, I didn’t notice until the girls walked off, that they left the fucking plastic bag on that chair! I was honestly fuming and the first few things I wanted to say was:

“How fucking filthy are you? honestly? could you not have done that right at the counter you stupid b!tch?!”

But they were too far and my food was far more precious than two stupid beings…

You say, oh who cares, everyone does that… or, you say, who cares, someone will clean it up… If that’s you, than I’d punch you in the face for being as ignorant as those two stupid bitches. Why am I swearing? because these things need to be told how they are, not sugar coated…

The problem for me isn’t that this won’t get cleaned up, the problem is that they didn’t have to “make more rubbish”, had they packed all their shit immediately into the backpack immediately, instead of walking 10 steps from the counter and leaving rubbish…

But again, I am a type of person that if I have some rubbish to chuck, and there are no bins around me, I will carry it with me until I can dispose it of…

But that’s just me… I’d rather walk the planet where there’s no or as little as rubbish…

