Tags

, ,

After the year of backpacking around the world I did back in 2012, I got infected with a bug, a bug for curiosity about the world, wanting to see more places, enrich my life with the experiences of a variety of cultures, places, countries, people… Since the big fallout after my last relationship, I have been struggling with a single thought to NOT drop everything, again, put the backpack on and go, the Antarctic, Maldives, Caribbean, back to Argentinean Patagonia (have been to the Chilean side), Bolivia’s salt planes, the Amazon, the Grand Savanna in Venezuela, etc etc, Europe, Africa, Russia, Asia… the list is very very long.

It all feels like, when you are thirsty, and consciously choose not to drink…

But…

I have a good life here, there are a few areas where I see problems, and these are the showstoppers for following the thirst of going.

I am not a teen, and when the breakup happened, I was at the stage of life where I wanted to settle, so you know, build a house on a plot of land in a magical location on the moon, plant a tree, where you’d live for some years… or forever? But I was supposed to start the life with someone. Twice the income as 2 people add to the same pot, etc etc. Don’t get me wrong, I can save as hell, I am a natural hamster when it comes to this. The truth is…

With single income, you can do fuck all… Unless you have rich parents, you’re a stock broker maybe? or got lucky with an idea of a stupid app or website everyone feels the need to post shit to, or whatever… That’s as much as I can tell you.
You don’t have much to show, especially that all your life savings have been building up from the moment you arrived here (having nothing except some money for food and rent, to get you to the first paychecks), you can’t afford to buy, unless it’s 3 hrs away from civilization maybe (if that…).

Then you talk to someone you know (who is 10 years younger than you) and they tell you they bought a plot of land and are going to build a house, because his family is giving him shit for not having a property already, as his sister has 5 already… W T F… ?! Yes, I don’t know how much the parents are helping, but still…

Then you also hear another person you know (your age) looking to buy now, after working their arse off for several years, to hear that properties in the city, evaluated to sell at 600k sell for almost 900k!!! and everything being over his budget! W T F… ?!

So… I am not quenching my thirst for travel with water, because deep down I’d also like to prepare a soup… even though I don’t have the ingredients…

Or I am too petrified of what if I like it so much that I won’t want to stop… and the money runs out…

But what if getting from NOW to wherever the life travel would take me would make me really really happy…

Happier than I ever will by putting each dollar away for the house I won’t be able to take with me anywhere…?

I wonder what advice I would give myself if I had a exact same clone talking to me right now…

