Tags

, , ,

I am back today from my trekking in Everest region, after 10 days of serious leg workout around 2800 up to 5400 meters. I have to say I thought I’d be much more tired, I thought I’d be struggling with my legs and all, but I am absolutely fine. No blisters, no drama, almost. 

On my second day of the trek I seemed to have achieved next level Pokemon hunter, and fir the next 4 days I got a serious diarrhea issue. I am not being disgusting and all, but literally I was peeing from the wrong end…

Day one, an early morning flight to Lukla, 6am start, 25min flight from Kathmandu. Then a tea, meet the porters, and off we go to Phakding. Short trek and easy one. I did a walk up to a monastery that afternoon to kill time.

Day two, the shits started. My stomach was turning food into water. No appetite at all. 5 hour trek to Namche Bazar was strainous to say the least. Great views, exciting hanging bridges crossings, plenty of yak and donkey traffic. 3400m. Namche is very picturesque. Room with a view!

Day three, still Namche. Trek up to 3900m for first glance of Everest and amazing panoramas. Then some more walking and photos around the town. Lost my polarising lens here.

Day four, starting to feel hungry, stomach still doing its thing of turning nutrition into water. Trek to Tengboche wasn’t as hard as to Namche, but going down to then go all the way back up. 3900m. Room with an amazing view and a visit to Buddhist monastery!

Day five, 6 tablets of anti diarrhea later, some antibiotics and other medication, plenty of rehydration salts, stomach is still not 100% settled. Trek to Dingboche along the moraine was pretty spectacular. 4400m.

Day six and my stomach is on hold. Trek Lobuche through the Tukla pass to arrive at almost 5000m. I did wall up a steep hill for some more amazing panoramas and a few selfies of course.

Day seven, got to Gorakshep at 5100m for a lunch break and then off to Everest Base Camp, at 5300+m, crossing higher passes at probably around 5400m. Amazing panoramas, spectacular moraine views, glaciers and managed to record an avalanche. Plenty of selfies and other photos, opened a card from someone very dear to me and teared up she’s not there with me. Can’t wait to hold her. Back to Gorakshep overnight.

Day eight, walking all the way back with the target of Tengboche, 7hrs and 20km later we were back at around 4000m. Weather is changing and it’s getting colder.

Day nine, trek back to Namche, cooler than on the way to EBC, think it’s my favourite place to stay. So pretty. Back at 3400m.

Day ten, back all the way to Lukla at about 2800m. Still plenty of photo opportunities.

Day eleven, got up for breakfast and then waited and waited for a return flight to Kathmandu, to finally arrive back at around mid day.

Loved it, would do it again, would recommend it!!! Can’t wait to sift through the photos and share the story with someone really close to me. Someone I miss quite a lot.

