Tags

,

I woke up today with a bit more energy than usual friday for a few reasons which i am fgoing to skip over. I did notice on my watch it’s the 13th. I am not one to believe in that sort of stuff. It’s not… Final Destination movie script… it’s life… But saying that, my morning went downwards from the moment I started moving outside of my bedroom.

I am still under the influence of my most recent life experience, 11 day trek in the Himalayas to Everest Base Camp. Today I was getting excited about a print I ordered and was hoping it might arrive today, one of my photos as a 100x30cm panorama. It’s titled “sunset over Everest”… except…
I was supposed to reach a point called Kala Patthar at 5555m for a greater panoramic view of the Everest mountain range and because I got altitude sickness, as well as the rest of the group, I bailed out on the 2hr 400m up and 1.5hr down steep trek. I decided I’ll get a panoramic shot from one of the souvenir shops back in Kathmamdu back then.

So this morning I unwrapped the rolled print, and realized that the sunset video I recorded with a comment of “here’s a sunset over Everest” and my panorama… aren’t of the Everest at all, it’s one of the other mountains. Imagine my pride crumbling onto a “oh no” moment when I realized you can’t actually see Everest from EBC… I obviously have photos of it, from a different place on the trek, but the 2hr from Gorakshep to Base Camp are only exposing a tiny part of the Everest summit itself. Imagine my disappointment for not pushing myself to go to Kala Patthar…

Update: so I was just being silly. After doing some more research and educational reading… Of course you can see Everest, not the summit but the Everest West Shoulder… face palm… all good… it was Everest altogether……..

