Tags

, , , ,

You hear stories from your friends how they go into shops and bars buying alcohol and are asked about ID when, and what’s appealing is that they are obviously long past the age of 18, same as me… I couldn’t really stop laughing once when I, my ex and a couple we know went into in Reading, UK to have a beer in a pub. We were all around 30 back then, but all three of them got ID’d on entry, I didn’t, I felt like taking the kids out…

I also had been sold student discounted tickets 2 or 3 years ago here at the cinema, without being asked for a student ID or anything. I knew the price of an adult ticket and when I was told to pay much lower price, I didn’t take long to wait to pay it, I didn’t even ask. That happened twice. It must have been the hoodie? Who knows…

I went to do my food shop yesterday and I wanted to get a few scratch cards for the hell of it. Done my shopping, walked to the separate counter and asked for 3 cards for $2 each. The lady was Asian (not being racist, just mentioning that, because maybe a European person would have not done what came next) and asked me how old was I. I thought what a strange question to be asked while buying scratch cards, even more so, when I am… old… So a few thoughts run through my head quickly, she’s probably twice my age, she’s definitely not hitting on me is she?! And I responded, I am 36. To what she said, are you sure? I kind of snorted, then said, I can show you my ID if you need me to. Then the lady turned to her manager (who was of Indian descend), who confirmed with a nod that it’s ok (or safe?) for her to sell me the scratch cards. I said with a big smile, wow, I will have to tell this to my partner, I almost got ID’d when buying scratch cards… first time ever…

